Respecting the value of Time

Respecting the value of Time to create exceptional products

To ensure the sustainability of its activities, men and women working for Rémy Cointreau adapt to the climatic conditions and water resources of the territories in which they develop exceptional products. Time, for them, creates a sense of wonder and brings a taste of pride. It requires the highest standards in measuring and reducing the environmental impact of its activities and contributes to raise awareness on the importance of transmission.

Rémy Cointreau’s CSR ambitions are structured around 10 Sustainable Development Goal’s (SDGs) as defined by the UN.

Taking an active role against global warming in order to comply with the Paris Agreement

Since 2015, Rémy Cointreau has been fighting global warming by implementing various actions following the signing of the Paris climate agreement (COP21).
Recalling the need for a change of direction seemed necessary to truly commit to a drastic reduction in greenhouse gas emissions and to take action in the face of the climate emergency. Alongside 88 French companies, and in connection with the One Planet Summit launched by the French government, Rémy Cointreau made a point of recalling how vital climate action is for global agriculture and for the terroirs from which the Group’s brands draw their identity. Since then, Rémy Cointreau has considerably rethought its CSR policy with regard to the fight against global warming by reducing CO2 emissions on the transport of finished products and to ensure that it coincides with the objectives set by this global agreement limiting global warming to less than 2°C. All partners and suppliers are committed to this dynamic.

Acting to reduce the environmental impact of our activities and target carbon neutrality

Since 2006, Rémy Cointreau has been measuring its carbon emissions using the Bilan Carbone® reference standard. For the first time this year, the GHG Protocol is being used as a reference, in order to align responses with international surveys such as the Climate Change from the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP). This year, Scope 3 of the Bilan Carbone® will be extended to all of Rémy Cointreau’s production activities. Similarly to last year, it includes the production activities of the Cognac, Angers and Barbados sites, and the upstream and downstream impacts of global product transport.
For the first time, it includes the activities of the Islay, Westland and Hautes Glaces Domaine production sites and the transport of products in Australia.

The Group’s carbon footprint is evolving to form part of a particularly ambitious approach that aims to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050.

Studies conducted at the sites to assess the potential for integrating green energy into production processes have led to the signing of contracts for the purchase of renewable energy. Since 2016, all of the electricity consumed by the group’s French sites (excluding the Hautes Glaces Domaine) has come from renewable sources (energy from hydroelectric production). With regard to the Domaine des Hautes Glaces, 94% of the total energy consumption is of renewable origin (wood-fired stills).

In 2019, a first site started producing photovoltaic energy. The Barbados site has installed solar panels, which in the coming weeks will cover 25% of the packaging site’s total electricity consumption.

In 2020, the preparation of the CSR 2024 plan will include the creation of a Scope 3 CO2 emissions reduction plan as of next year in connection with the global SBT (Science Based Targets) initiative.
Rémy Cointreau’s aim is to set this CSR 2024 plan on a less than 2°C trajectory by defining quantified objectives to reduce carbon emissions and thus be a player in the global challenge to limit global warming.

Preserving water resources

Rémy Cointreau’s ambition is to remain the leader of an economically competitive agriculture, while maintaining its uncompromising commitment to the quality of its products and protecting the environment. Within this framework, Rémy Cointreau has a duty to participate in the protection of the terroirs and natural resources that are the foundation of its products’ quality.

Among these natural resources, water is a major concern for the Group, particularly in terms of its availability for distillation activities at the Barbados, Islay, Rémy Martin Domaines and the Hautes Glaces Domaine sites, and its quality for the development of the Group’s products.

The same applies to the effluents it discharges. Rémy Cointreau is involved in the preservation of terroirs and the preservation of their biodiversity. It is therefore essential to limit effluents and ensure their treatment before they are discharged in nature.

For the past 4 years, Rémy Cointreau has been responding to CDP Water’s reporting requests. In line with this reporting, the Group is improving its objectives for the protection of water resources. The first and ongoing steps have been taken to ensure the reliability of consumption measures at all production sites. The objective was achieved this year and from next year, emphasis will be placed on validating water consumption reduction and optimisation targets as part of the CSR 2024 plan.

Particular attention is paid to the treatment of production site liquid effluents. Most of this liquid effluent consists of distillation vinasse. For several years now, the volume of effluents has been monitored and BOD/COD analyses are routinely carried out before and after treatment, before discharge into nature.

Effluent recovery programs are implemented. For example, near Cognac, Rémy Martin has inaugurated a new distillery in Juillac-le-Coq that operates in a closed circuit and limits the discharge of effluents. The vinasses recovered from the distillation of eaux-de-vie are collected and sent to the regional REVICO unit, which converts them into biogas. This green energy is then used to supply energy to various installations (REVICO distillation columns, greenhouses in the town of Cognac).

Back to menu

Respecter la valeur du temps

Respecter la valeur du temps pour créer des produits d’exception

Pour assurer la pérennité de ses activités, les femmes et les hommes de Rémy Cointreau s’adaptent aux conditions climatiques et aux ressources en eau des territoires sur lesquels sont élaborés des produits d’exception. Le temps, pour eux, crée de l’étonnement et engendre de la fierté. Il oblige à la plus grande exigence sur la mesure et la diminution de l’impact environnemental de ses activités et contribue à éveiller les consciences à l’importance de la transmission.

Les enjeux RSE de Rémy Cointreau s’articulent autour de 10 objectifs de développement durable (ODD) définis par l’ONU

Etre acteurs de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique avec l’accord mondial sur le climat

Depuis 2015, Rémy Cointreau lutte contre le réchauffement climatique, en mettant en œuvre diverses actions après la signature de l’accord de Paris sur le climat (COP21).
Rappeler la nécessité d’un changement de cap a paru nécessaire pour engager véritablement une diminution drastique des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et la grande nécessité d’agir face à l’urgence climatique. Aux côtés de 88 entreprises françaises, et en lien avec le One Planet Summit lancé par l’Etat français, Rémy Cointreau a tenu à rappeler ainsi combien l’action climatique est vitale pour l’agriculture mondiale et pour les terroirs dans lesquels les marques du groupe puisent leur vérité.
Depuis, Rémy Cointreau a repensé considérablement sa politique RSE en matière de lutte contre le réchauffement climatique en réduisant les émissions de CO2 sur les transports de produits finis et pour qu’elle coïncide avec les objectifs établis par cet accord mondial limitant à 2°C le réchauffement climatique mondial. L’ensemble des partenaires et fournisseurs s’engagent dans cette dynamique.

Agir pour diminuer l’impact environnemental de nos activités et viser la neutralité carbone

La maîtrise des émissions des gaz à effet de serre (GES) est l’une des orientations prioritaires du plan 2024 de Rémy Cointreau.

Depuis 2006, Rémy Cointreau mesurait ses émissions Carbone à l’aide du référentiel Bilan Carbone®. Pour la première fois cette année, le référentiel utilisé est le GHG Protocol, afin d’harmoniser les réponses avec les enquêtes internationales, telles que le Climate Change du Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP). Cette année, le scope 3 du bilan Carbone est étendu à l’ensemble de l’activité de production de Rémy Cointreau. De façon identique à l’année dernière, il comprend les activités de production des sites de Cognac, d’Angers et de la Barbade, les impacts amont et aval des transports des produits dans le monde entier.
Il intègre pour la première fois les activités des sites de production d’Islay, de Westland, du Domaine des Hautes Glaces et le transport des produits en Australie.

Le bilan carbone du groupe évolue pour s’inscrire dans une démarche particulièrement ambitieuse qui à terme vise la neutralité carbone.

Les études menées sur les sites pour évaluer le potentiel d’intégration des énergies vertes dans les processus de production ont permis la signature de contrats pour l’achat d’énergies renouvelables. Depuis 2016, la totalité des consommations d’électricité par les sites français du groupe (hors Domaine des Hautes Glaces) est d’origine renouvelable (énergie issue d’une production hydraulique). Concernant Le Domaine des Hautes Glaces, 94% de la consommation d’énergie totale est d’origine renouvelable (chauffage au bois des alambics).

En 2019, un premier site s’est lancé dans la production d’énergie photovoltaïque. Le site de la Barbade a installé des panneaux solaires, qui dès les prochaines semaines couvriront 25% de la consommation totale d’électricité du site de conditionnement.

En 2020, la préparation du plan RSE 2024 intégrera la création d’un plan de réduction des émissions CO2 scope 3 dès la prochaine année en lien avec l’initiative mondiale SBT (Science Based Targets).
La volonté de Rémy Cointreau est d’inscrire ce plan RSE 2024 dans une trajectoire 2°C en définissant des objectifs chiffrés de réduction des émissions Carbone et être ainsi acteur de l’enjeu mondial visant à limiter le réchauffement climatique.

Préserver les ressources en eau

L’ambition de Rémy Cointreau est de rester leader d’une agriculture économiquement compétitive, tout en demeurant intransigeant sur la qualité de ses produits et la préservation de l’environnement. Dans ce cadre, Rémy Cointreau se doit de participer à la protection des terroirs et les ressources naturelles qui sont à la base de la qualité de ses produits.

Parmi ces ressources naturelles, l’eau est un enjeu majeur pour le groupe, notamment au niveau de sa disponibilité pour les activités de distillation sur les sites de la Barbade, d’Islay, des Domaines Rémy Martin et du Domaine des Hautes Glaces, et de sa qualité pour l’élaboration des produits du groupe.

Il en est de même pour les effluents rejetés. Rémy Cointreau est impliqué dans la préservation des terroirs et la préservation de leur biodiversité. Il est donc essentiel de limiter les effluents et de veiller à leur traitement avant rejet dans le milieu naturel.

Depuis 4 ans, Rémy Cointreau répond aux demandes de reporting du CDP Water. En ligne avec ce reporting, le groupe améliore ses objectifs de protection des ressources en eau. Les premières étapes en cours d’achèvement ont été de fiabiliser les mesures de consommation sur l’ensemble des sites de production. L’objectif a été atteint cette année et dès l’année prochaine, l’accent sera mis sur la validation d’objectifs de réduction et d’optimisation des consommations d’eau dans le cadre du plan RSE 2024.

Une attention toute particulière est portée aux traitements des effluents liquides des sites de production. La majeure partie de ces effluents liquides est constituée de vinasses de distillation. Depuis plusieurs années, le volume des effluents est suivi et des analyses de
DBO/DCO sont régulièrement effectuées avant et après traitement, avant le rejet dans le milieu naturel.

Des programmes de valorisation des effluents sont mis en œuvre. Par exemple, près de Cognac, Rémy Martin a inauguré une nouvelle distillerie à Juillac-le-Coq qui fonctionne en circuit fermé et limite le rejet d’effluents. Les vinasses récupérées à l’issue de la distillation des eaux-de-vie sont collectées et transmises à l’unité régionale REVICO qui les transforment en biogaz. Cette énergie verte permet ensuite de fournir en énergie diverses installations (colonnes à distiller de REVICO, serres de la ville de Cognac).

Retour au menu